Forum

SwiftComp 3D model input

1. Malak Yaaqoubi

I'm actually a bachelor student working on my final project- 

We have a small wind turbine model built from a composite made of 50% e-glass fiber(material 1) and 50% epoxy(material 2). We divided our blade into 30 sections and for each we have a specific stitching pattern (0/+45/-45) for the leading and trailing edge, spar caps, and shear web. We want to get the material characterization of the composite in order to input them in ANSYS and FAST software that we use to run our calculations. However, we only have properties of the e-glass and epoxy.

We initially wanted to consider only one section to implement in SWIFTComp and we assigned nodes for our 3D model. I was wondering  : 

1. does the axis directions y1,y2, and y3 remain our proper choice and we are not constrained by SwiftComp ?
    2. In user manual, we have a block mat_id isotropy ntemp. What does ntemp stands for ? is it the nodes number that are mode of the mat_id ? The micro3D.sc files seems to refer to it as such 
    3. in that same input file micro3D.sc , the last blocks refer to # mtype isotropy ntemp , for mtype=1 , we have a temperature density input that is not quite clear, what does it refer to ?
    4. for mtype=2 in the latest block, we input 4 constants although isotropy=0, why do we have a line with constants 2600000 0. 
  2. Wenbin Yu

Yes, the coordinate can remine your own proper choice. You are not constrained by SwiftComp. If you choose for SwiftComp is different from your problem coordinate system, you need to transfer SwiftComp outputs before input into your FEA code. 

ntemp stands for number of sets for temperate related properties. If your properties are not temperature dependent, you can set ntemp=1. 

temperature is a number for you to provide the material properties at a specific temperature, density is the density of the material. 

2600000  0. implies the Young's modulus is 2600000  and Poisson's ratio is 0.